top of page

The British Women's Team Cup (previously known as the Women's Team Series until it was renamed in 2020) is a series of races run throughout the calendar year.  Each team may enter 6 riders in an event with the first 4 rider’s finishing positions scoring points that count towards the team’s placing in the overall series. The riders still score their normal BC points individually but registering their team enables their performance to be included in their team scores for the overall series to win the prestigious Team Cup. 

Also each race organiser sets aside prize money for the first second and third placed teams for each race which is presented at the end of the season. Plus,  depending on how many teams register each year, there is also prize money for at least top 3 placed teams in the overall series. 

Starting in 2024 a Combativity Award was introduced to encourage exciting, aggressive and smart bike racing.

Thanks you to our friends at @rawvelo @albion.cycling @wahoofitnessofficial @quocshoes & @cyclefituk for an exciting array of prizes for this award.

Previous Overall Winners

         2011  -  Motorpoint Marshals Pasta

         2010  -  Motorpoint Marshals Pasta

        2009  -

       2008  -  Surrey League

      2007  -  Team Luciano-Kuota

     2006  -  Team Luciano-Kuota

   2005  -  Team Luciano-Kuota

2004  -  Team Luciano-Kuota

  2003  -  Team Luciano-Kuota

   2002  -  Surrey League

     2001  -  Cottingham Coureurs

     2000  -  Western Division

    2023 - Hutchinson-Brother UK

    2022  -  LAKA - Pedal Mafia

    2021  -  Pro-Noctis - Redchilli

    Bikes - Heidi Kjeldsen

     2020  -  Not Held due to COVID

         2019  -  Cycle Team OnForm

         2018  -  Brother UK Fusion RT

            2017  -   Cycle Team OnForm

              2016  -  Les Filles Racing Team

              2015  -  Army Cycle Race Team

                   2014  -  Epic Cycles-Scott

                  2013  -   Abergavenny R.C.

               2012  -   Scot Contessa Epic

Hall of Fame

Anna Henderson takes the win at Dave Peck Memorial Race 2018


Hannah Barnes 2010 Bedford 2 Day Event


Claire Steels at Oakley 2019


Lizzie Deignan finished 2nd Junior at Bedford 2 Day in 2006


Lizzie Banks at Banbury Star 2016


Joscelin Lowden at the Bedford 3 Day 2017


Dani Rowe and Corrine Hall riding for Team Twickenham CC at Naseby 2008

Laura Kenny wins the Astwood Hill stage at the 2009 Bedford 2 Day


Bedford 2 Day 2011. Sarah Storey (Yellow and Mountains), first junior, Hannah Barnes.

Elinor Barker won several rounds of the 2011/2012 Team Cup

Alice Barnes takes the win at Dave Peck Memorial RR 2013


Winners of the Womens Team Series for 5 years from 2003 to 2007

2012 Lucy Garner Hall of Fame BWTC.jpg

Lucy Garner Bedford 3 Day 2012 Team Cup

2012 Dame Sarah Storey and Helen Wyman  Hall of Fame BWTC.jpg

Dame Sarah Storey and Helen Wyman 2012 Team Cup

2022 Zoe Backetedt Hall of Fame BWTC.jpg

Zoe Backstedt  Halesowen 2021 Team Series


"Women's racing reached an all time low in 1999 when the BCF decided to handicap the Bruton Series, an action that saw a general decline in the number of riders, followed by a decline in the number of races (3 Bruton Series events scheduled for 2000); indeed in August 2000 the general feeling was that the Bruton Series should be allowed to 'die'.
Following a meeting with the BCF in Leicester in 1999, Jenny Gretton and I met in the car park and spoke about the poor state of women's racing; and after about 30 minutes an outline of the Women's Team Race Series was formed.

This discussion was followed in the weeks afterwards, by Jenny and I by thrashing out a few rules, contacting potential organisers and the first ever Women's Team Race Series was held on 30 April 2000 in Bedford - there were 2 other races in the Series that year with the much missed Maurice Broadbent organising in Bangor and David Gretton in Nottingham.

Jon Miles 1.jpg

John Miles receiving his Gold Badge of Honour, for his lifelong contribution to the sport. At the British Cycling awards 2023


From those small beginnings arose the Team Series that we know today, a Series that has seen more women racing than ever before in this country, a Series that is 'owned' by the riders themselves who, each year, have a say in the way the Team Series is run.
The Women's Team Race Series continues to evolve and will in following years; it was the right format at the right time but the ethos behind the Team Series remains - to allow women to race in a welcoming atmosphere, to develop their skills and fitness in a team environment.
From it’s inception when the first race had 36 riders entered to the full fields we see today, a lot has been achieved over the last 20 years and I look forward to the continuing development of women's racing although there is still much to do. Some cycling magazines still see women's racing as a minority and rarely worthy of report, there are not enough women officials on Division Committees and only this year have the BCF acknowledged that women should receive points on the same basis as the men – these are the goals to be worked on in the coming years."

bottom of page