top of page

Duncan Murray Wines RR results

Mat Porton

Welland Valley Cycles presented the fifth round of the 2023 British Women's Team Cup.

This established round of the series presents varied sporting terrain over four laps.

Ruth Shier wins again!

by Lisa West


Lisa West

Ruth crosses the line to win

Once again the battle of Naseby was re-enacted in our penultimate Team Cup race with a pirate festival behind HQ inspiring an interesting outfits for our race sponsor Duncan Murray who waved her in over the line!  Run over 4 laps of an undulating course, the 25km gusting wind provided some testing conditions for the field of 60 riders.


Attacks were tried by many riders in the first 3 laps including Junior Amelia Cebak (Tofauti Everyone Active), Ruth Shier (Hutchinson-Brother UK), Lucy Neatham (LDN-Academy) and Anouska Greenaway of defending Team Cup winners Laka Pedal Mafia (pictured below)

AmeliaCebakAttacks_Matt De-B.jpg

Matt De-B

AttackRuthShierLucyNeathamAnouskaGreenaway_Matt De-B.jpg

Matt De-B

Listen to the post race interview to hear how Ruth finally made an attack stick on the penultimate lap and quickly established a lead of well over a minute but she knew that Anna Brearley of LDN-Academy, was making ground on the last lap. Frustratingly for Anna who, having broken away to chase, knew she was not going to win a bunch sprint. She was then battling the wind with 7km to go and ran out of road finishing 2nd 40 seconds behind Ruth. Meanwhile the peloton settled in for a bunch sprint.  Sian Botteley of Hutchinson-Brother launched her attack on the final climb but Maddie Heywood of FTP-Fulfill The Potential managed to close the gap and overtook Sian to win the bunch sprint and take 3rd finishing just over a minute later. Congratulations to Hutchinson-Brother who earned the team prize win just squeezing Brother UK into 2nd place with and LDN-Academy taking the 3rd team prize.


Matt De-B

Ruth crosses the line on her way to win with over a minute’s lead on the bell lap

Matt De-B


Matt De-B

Lucy crosses the line solo for 2nd place


Gary Hibbert

Maddie Heywood wins the bunch sprint

Huge thanks to the race sponsor Duncan Murray, our long standing race organiser Stuart Dawkins and Welland Valley CC for running this race for the Team Cup competition involving 48 volunteers! 

Team Results

1 Hutchinson-Brother UK 230

2 Brother UK-Orientation Marketing 211

3 LDN-Academy A 200

4 FTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing 174

5 LAKA Pedal Mafia RT 108

6 Team Empella 91

7 AWOL Worx  87

8 Saint Piran WRT 84

9 Wahoo - Le Col 76

10 Tactic WRT 70

11 Jadan Vive le Velo Glasdon 24

12 Army Cycling Union 10

13 43528 8

Individual Results

1 Hutchinson-Brother UK - Ruth Shier

2 LDN-Academy A - Anna Brearley

3 FTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing - Maddie Heywood

4 Brother UK-Orientation Marketing - Ellen Bennett

5 Not in a registered team - Nicola Greenwood

6 Not in a registered team - Mari Porton

7 Tactic WRT - Georgina Oakley

8 AWOL Worx  - Cecilia Hime

9 Hutchinson-Brother UK - Sian Botteley

10 Not in a registered team - Amelia Cebak

11 Brother UK-Orientation Marketing - Harriet Evans

12 Not in a registered team - Charlotte Deykin

13 Wahoo - Le Col - Emma McDonald

14 Saint Piran WRT - Gabrielle Homer

15 Team Empella - Alison Fovargue

16 LAKA Pedal Mafia RT - Isabella Johnson

17 Saint Piran WRT - Ailsa McLagan

18 LDN-Academy B - Jamie-Lee Wright

19 Team Empella - Alderney Baker

20 FTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing - Elizabeth Sanders

21 Brother - Composite Team - Georgia Lancaster

22 Brother UK-Orientation Marketing - Electra Morris

23 LDN-Academy A - Sarah King

24 Wahoo - Le Col - Anastasia Bowler

25 Brother UK-Orientation Marketing - Rachel Brown

26 Brother UK-Orientation Marketing - Tuva Mauland

27 LAKA Pedal Mafia RT - Rebecca Babbage

28 LAKA Pedal Mafia RT - Anouska Greenaway

29 Jadan Vive le Velo Glasdon - Rebekah Nash

30 Brother UK-Orientation Marketing - Amber Junker-Brameld

31 AWOL Worx  - Freya Evans

32 LDN-Academy A - Lucy Neatham

33 Hutchinson-Brother UK - Lydia Watts

34 LDN-Academy A - Rosie Day

35 Brother - Composite Team - Hope Inglis

36 Not in a registered team - Eleanor Humphries

37 LAKA Pedal Mafia RT - Caitlin Bower

38 LDN-Academy B - Clare Jackson

39 FTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing - Sasha Smith

40 Team Empella - Melissa Baker

41 FTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing - Vivienne Tomlin

42 FTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing - Lizzie Fox

43 LDN-Academy A - Jessica Prior

44 LAKA Pedal Mafia RT - Alice Butcher

45 43528 - Ella Roper

46 LDN-Academy A - Eleanor Bolton

47 Army Cycling Union - Eva  Marshall

48 FTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing - Olive Holliday

49 Army Cycling Union - Katy Vincent

50 Brother - Composite Team - Amy Harvey

51 Brother - Composite Team - Laura Pittard

DNF LDN-Academy B - Louise Davidson

DNF JRC-INTERFLON Race Team - Evelyn Field

DNF Not in a registered team - Mia Rutterford

DNF Brother - Composite Team - Mia Smith

DNF Not in a registered team - Nicole Wells

DNF Loughborough Lightning - Alice Lethbridge

DNF Not in a registered team - Francesca Hall

DNF Loughborough Lightning - Anya Tamplin

DNF Army Cycling Union - Kate Dunscombe

DNS Jadan Vive le Velo Glasdon - Emily Chilton

DNS Le Col Race Team - Caitlin Dimbleby

DNS StolenGoat Race Team - Olivia French

DNS LAKA Pedal Mafia RT - Rebecca Hair

DNS Not in a registered team - Adela Martinkova

DNS LDN-Academy B - Natasha Reddy

PodiumRuthShierAnnaBrearleyMaddieHeywood__Matt De-B.jpg

Race podium Anna Brearley, Ruth Shier, Maddie Heywood with Stuart Dawkins and Duncan Murray (Photo Credit Matt De-B)

bottom of page